The history of the monastery goes back many centuries. Researchers estimate that it was founded before the 15th century. The monastery was transferred to its present location from an area a short distance above the town of Aedipsos. At the original site there now stands the small chappel of Agios Georgios. The place where the monastery is now situated iss breathtakingly beautiful.19th century travellers mention numerous remains of ancient building in the aera, indentifying the location as the seat of the oracle of Selinountios Apollo, to wich Strabo refers. The nave of the monastery is a cruciform domed basilica, which was painted witch frescoes in 1727. The altar screen, sich extends over the entire width of the church was exquisitely carved in wood in 1834. The carvings, pillars and reliefs show unique figures of angels.